Mr Benny Lim appointed as Chairman of the National Parks Board

Jul 30, 2018 10:00

Mr Benny Lim, former Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of National Development, Prime Minister’s Office and National Security & Intelligence Coordination, will be appointed as Chairman of the National Parks Board (NParks) with effect from 1 August 2018. Mr Lim spent 37 years in the Public Service, and retired in 2016. Mr Lim has an avid interest in nature and greenery, and will succeed Mrs Christina Ong who will be stepping down from the NParks Board at the end of the current term.

Mrs Ong served on the NParks Board for 12 years and has been Chairman since 2007. With Mrs Ong at the helm over the last decade, NParks has strengthened urban biodiversity and ecosystems, cultivated community ownership and stewardship, and deepened its focus on sound science through research and development. Today, Singapore has one of the highest densities of greenery in the world. Mrs Ong supported NParks’ work in nature conservation which included species recovery and habitat enhancement programmes as part of its Nature Conservation Masterplan, and the opening of Singapore’s first Marine Park at Sisters’ Islands. An ardent champion of nurturing a personal connection with nature in an urban environment, Mrs Ong guided NParks’ efforts in optimising parks and gardens to develop new and better lifestyle and recreation opportunities for park visitors. Programmes such as Community in Bloom and Community in Nature were launched to engage and inspire Singaporeans. Mrs Ong’s guidance also played a crucial role in elevating Singapore internationally, with the successful inscription of the Singapore Botanic Gardens as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. This also further enhanced the Gardens’ position as a premier global institution for botanical research. 

Six existing Board members will also be re-appointed. They are Mr Andreas Sohmen-Pao, Mr Warren Fernandez, Dr Suriani Suratman, Mr Guy Harvey-Samuel, Mr George Huang and Mr Kenneth Er. In addition, three new members will join the Board. They are Mr Cheng Hsing Yao, Ms Shantini Ramachandra and Mr Musa Fazal. All three members bring a wealth of experiences from their work in both private and public sectors. 

Four Board members will be stepping down from the Board after their terms end on 31 July 2018. They are Mrs Koh-Lim Wen Gin, Dr Malone-Lee Lai Choo, Mr Seah Kian Peng and Ms Jamie Ang. 

The new 10-member Board will continue to guide NParks in its efforts to grow Singapore as a biophilic City in a Garden, and create the best living environment by providing excellent greenery and recreation in partnership with the community. All appointments will be for a two-year term with effect from 1 August 2018. The full list of NParks Board members is appended in the Annex.

The Ministry of National Development and NParks welcome the new board members and extend their deepest gratitude to Mrs Christina Ong and the outgoing members for their invaluable service, guidance and contributions during their tenure.