Formation of Town Councils

Jul 30, 2020

As required under the Town Councils Act, the Ministry of National Development (MND) issued the Town Councils (Declaration) Order 2020 (“Order”) on 30 July 2020 to put into effect the formation of 17 Town Councils following General Election (GE) 2020.

The 17 Town Councils were formed at the request of the respective Members of Parliament (MPs), and comprise one newly-established Town Council, 11 reconstituted Town Councils and five Town Councils with unchanged town areas. MND encourages all Town Councils to work together to ensure a smooth transition, so that the needs of residents can continue to be served. The constituencies under the 17 Town Councils are shown in the Annex.

Newly-Established Town Council

The new Sengkang Town Council has been established with the creation of Sengkang Town comprising Sengkang GRC. The GRC is created from parts of the pre-GE2020 Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC, Punggol East SMC and Sengkang West SMC. 

Reconstituted Town Councils

11 Town Councils have been reconstituted as some areas under their purview became part of other towns due to changes in electoral boundaries or changes in the grouping of constituencies for a town. 

The 11 reconstituted Town Councils are Ang Mo Kio, Bishan-Toa Payoh, Chua Chu Kang, Jalan Besar, Marine Parade, Marsiling-Yew Tee, Nee Soon, Pasir Ris-Punggol, Sembawang, Tampines and West Coast.    

Town Councils with Unchanged Town Areas

Five Town Councils continue to exist with their town areas unchanged compared to pre-GE2020. These Town Councils are Aljunied-Hougang, East Coast-Fengshan, Holland-Bukit Panjang, Jurong-Clementi and Tanjong Pagar.

In addition, the Town Council of East Coast-Fengshan has been renamed as East Coast. 

Take Over of Transferred Areas

Under the Town Councils Act, Town Councils have up to 90 days from the date of the Order to take over the management of areas to be transferred. As such, Sengkang Town Council and the 11 reconstituted Town Councils will take over the management of the transferred areas with effect from 28 October 2020. Town Councils involved in the handing and taking over can also mutually agree to an earlier take-over date as permitted by the Town Councils Act.